top of page

Wed, Jun 01


Kroc Institute for Peace & Justice

2022 Annual Conference & Award Ceremony

The San Diego Chapter of the Federal Bar Association is pleased to present the 2022 Annual Conference, Controlling Your Career: Tools and Insight to Guide Your Path.

Registration is Closed
See other events
2022 Annual Conference & Award Ceremony
2022 Annual Conference & Award Ceremony

Time & Location

Jun 01, 2022, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM

Kroc Institute for Peace & Justice, 5998 Alcala Park, San Diego, CA 92110

About the Event

Join us in person for the 2022 Annual Conference & Award Ceremony. The Conference will give lawyers of all stages tools and insight to guide their career path. The San Diego FBA will also present its Chapter awards.

Current Schedule (3 hours MCLE):

12:30 p.m.  -  Registration

1:00 p.m. - Welcome Address 

1:10 p.m. - Panel I: Forging Your Path

  • Janice Brown, Principal, Meyers Nave
  • Dave Fox, Founder of Fox Law
  • Kelly Douglas, President and CEO of Voices for Children
  • Heather Linn Rosing, CEO and President, Klinedinst PC (Moderator)

2:05 p.m.  -  Panel II: Exemplary Leadership

  • Carol Lam, former U.S. Attorney and Deputy General Counsel of Qualcomm
  • Reuben Camper Cahn, former Executive Director of Federal Defenders of San Diego, Inc.
  • Johanna Schiavoni, Appellate Attorney and Past President, SDCBA and Lawyers Club of San Diego
  • Ninth Circuit Judge John B. Owens (Moderator)

3:00 p.m. - Break

3:15 p.m. -  Panel III: Building Your Business

  • Karen Hewitt, Partner-in-Charge, California Region, Jones Day
  • Carolina Bravo-Karimi, Managing Partner, Wilson Turner Kosmo, LLP
  • Anabella Bonfa, Attorney and Social Media Specialist
  • Paul Fraidenburgh, Shareholder, Buchalter (Moderator)

4:15 p.m. -  Fireside Chat

  • Lawyer-turned-writer David Lat, founder of Above the Law, one of the nation's largest legal news websites, and publisher of Original Jurisdiction, a newsletter about law and legal affairs
  • Ninth Circuit Judge Patrick J. Bumatay (Moderator)

 5:00 p.m.  -  Hosted Reception Begins

 5:15 p.m.  -  Presentation of FBA San Diego Chapter Awards

  • Distinguished Service Award: Shireen Matthews
  • Outstanding Advocate Award: Ryan Stitt
  • Rising Attorney Award: Tarina Mand

 6:30 p.m.  -  End of Reception


  • General Admission

    Sale ended
  • Students/Law Clerks

    Federal law clerks and law school students are eligible for this reduced price ticket, along with USD Law School faculty.

    Sale ended
  • FBA Member

    Sale ended



Share This Event

bottom of page